Protocol Education

1.65625

Protocol Education

Reviews

Profit over Professionalism

Low pay & under payed twice.Consultant unavailable, never replied to emails. Finally, she said can't do anything as it's a new academic year. Guaranteed work scheme meant more work guaranteed at even lower daily rate & NO pay 2 days they didn't find work.Another time I planned for weeks,no PPA & they didn't honour MPS as agreed verbally. School backed me totally but the consultant said she couldn't get hold of the Head to confirm I was doing the job of a class teacher to get MPS. Didnt go back!

Comment saminasheikhfa@yahoo.com 23 February 2017

OVERALL
1.25
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
2

Good agency, pity about the rates of pay.

While I have had work this term in an excellent school, and the consultants in the Newcastle and Middlesbrough offices are great, the rate of pay is shocking.

Comment Delenn 11 October 2016

OVERALL
2.5
PAY
1
SUPPORT
3
TRAINING
3
EASE OF FINDING WORK
3

Good agency, pity about the rates of pay.

While I have had work this term in an excellent school, and the consultants in the Newcastle and Middlesbrough offices are great, the rate of pay is shocking.

Comment Delenn 11 October 2016

OVERALL
2.5
PAY
1
SUPPORT
3
TRAINING
3
EASE OF FINDING WORK
3

Avoid working with Tower Hamlets, worth working with Hackney instead

I had doubts about Protocol, but I thought I'd give them a try as they do have a lot of schools on their books within Tower Hamlets. I found the member of staff for that borough extremely unprofessional, rude and would often sulk if you didn't accept unsuitable positions he offered you. He was just focused on getting the finders/intro fee and attempt to hit the KPI targets.Avoid!!

Comment Uber 15 September 2015

OVERALL
1.25
PAY
1
SUPPORT
2
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

Very unprofessional and rude

A consultant called to enquire about my current situation, but it appeared to be just an opportunity for her to humiliate me. With a snobby attitude, after noticing I was foreign, she told me that with that thick foreign accent I didn't stand a chance at a job, although I teach Science and Maths, and when I told her I wasn't working every day -it was September- she demanded to know how I was supporting myself. Luckily for me she was wrong.

Comment klip 15 July 2015

OVERALL
1
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

Very poor service

They are unreliable and bookings are often cancelled on the day or you are double booked and sent home. That is if they actually find you any work!

The rates are pretty poor too, but you can negotiate a little once you have been to a school and the request you back. Not an agency to go to if you are expecting service with a smile, regular well paid work, or support.

Comment bradbury 22 April 2015

OVERALL
1.25
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
2
Scott Owen, Marketing Manager at Protocol Education responded:

Hi Bradbury, I am sorry to hear that you have not had a great experience with Protocol Education. I am particularly concerned to hear you didn't feel supported. We like to feel we support our teachers and support workers in a number of ways, from your consultant, through the free CPD we offer and the chance to interact with us directly via social media. I'd really like to hear more about your experiences so I can give some feedback to the branch in question so we can do better next time, so please do get in touch. Scott

One of the worst

I'm registered with a few agencies, Protocol is one of the worst. They MAY find you some work but it’s usually further than you want to travel and at a much lower rate of pay than other agencies. They also blatantly lie to you, tell you what they think you want to hear to get you to go to the school then renege on the deal. Staff are the usual mix, one or two are ok, the rest are rude, unprofessional liars who couldn’t care less about you just that you make them money. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Comment Nick @ Newcastle 19 March 2015

OVERALL
1
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1
David Jones, Branch Manager at Protocol Education responded:

Hi Nick, My team here in the Newcastle office are recruited for their professional approach and I’m extremely concerned to hear that your experience with Protocol Education hasn’t been a positive one. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences in detail and attempt to make amends. Both my team and I are really proud of the positive reputation we have built up among schools and teachers in Newcastle and the north east and therefore are keen to be able to explore the issues you raise and remedy the situation in full. Many thanks David

Avoid!

Turned up for a day's work at a school (as booked with Protocol) only to find out I was not needed. When I asked about pay at the school they referred me back to the agency. When I asked about the pay at the agency they refused to pay me (even though I had turned up for a day's work and it was not my fault the school hadn't told the agency they didn't need me) and refused to chase the school for payment. Do NOT use unless you can afford to turn up for work and not get paid. Very poor!

Comment Teechur 27 November 2014

OVERALL
1.5
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
2
EASE OF FINDING WORK
2

So far so good

Working through the Watford branch mostly on daily supply. Since mid Sept, I have had on average 3-4 days work per week. Their daily rate is listed on their website and that is what I have been paid. They do offer training but I haven't used it so can't comment on that. They have been friendly when I have spoken to them. I like the booking confirmation emails and the ability to update my diary online. They have an online timesheet confirmation system for schools that use it that is convenient.

Comment Butterfly 4 November 2014

OVERALL
3.25
PAY
3
SUPPORT
3
TRAINING
3
EASE OF FINDING WORK
4

A big disappointment

Very little work until Decemeber last year.

Consultants did not explain why I had to be placed under an umbrella company for pay. This ended up with me paying both their and my own tax out of my rate, as well as, the surcharge for being paid.

The guaranteed work program is a not worth the paper it is written on and again consultants did not take time to explain how it works.

Training sessions have been appalling and limited. Training provided did not meet School style inset.

Comment Mr_e_ 19 September 2014

OVERALL
1
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

Took ages clearing me for work, poor internal communication

The majority of consultants were friendly and contacted me a lot, suggesting possible long term roles in September. The SEN department are really good, but I was really looking for mainstream primary supply. It took a long time for the agency to clear me for work, and I received an email telling me that if my references didn't come through in the next week they would remove me from their books. I feel that internal communication was poor. I was unimpressed with their training.

Comment MissFrost 15 July 2014

OVERALL
1.5
PAY
2
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
2
Daisy Anderson, Resource Manager at Protocol Education responded:

Thank you for our comments, we always appreciate feedback from our candidates. I think in this instance, we had problems with referees replying to our requests, unfortunately this does sometimes happens and slows the clearing process down. I do however, take your comments on board, I will speak to the relevant consultants who were working on your file and address your comment on lack of internal communication. Daisy

Very hard to get work

I found this agency very hard to get work, Having to ring at 7am to say I am available is very awkward when you work for multiple agencies AND they give you work when they have it no matter what.
No Online diary (that is updateable on the candidate side)

Comment msussams 27 May 2014

OVERALL
1.5
PAY
3
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

A reasonable agency to work for.

Most of the consultants are fairly helpful and friendly and the agency does tend to keep me busy with work which is the most important thing. Their pay rates aren't great although not the lowest I'm aware of. I've worked for Protocol on and off for 10 years and my pay rate hasn't increased for about 6 years on the whole, although I have negotiated slight increases for some assignments (if you don't ask you don't get!)

Comment ww1962 9 May 2014

OVERALL
3.25
PAY
3
SUPPORT
4
TRAINING
2
EASE OF FINDING WORK
4

Better than Average company to work for

Staff friendly and respectful, (Sheffield and Nottingham Branch.) During year a varied amount of assignments offered although over the last 3 months work has dried up.

May be a god idea for the staff to contact their teachers, especially those of us who have worked for them over a long period of time to update them on what is happening. (No cost for social/courtesy calls - a fundamental factor in customer relations.)

Comment andrew1996 2 May 2014

OVERALL
2
PAY
3
SUPPORT
2
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
2

Poorly run

I took my crb in to the office in September. They didn't contact me but a different agency said there was a problem with one ref so I gave protocol a new ref. They text me in late October to ask me to drop my crb in, I said I had. They then text a month later to say I was clear to work. Bookings were an hour away. Then had 10 days cancelled due to me attending a funeral when I was told they'd confirmed with the school that I wouldn't lose work prior to me travelling 300 miles for the funeral

Comment missf567 27 April 2014

OVERALL
1.75
PAY
4
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

Poor communication. Poor support.

Very poor communication. The section near Oxfordshire that I was dealing with did not respond to numerous messages and unfortunately demonstrated a lack of consciousness and awareness in their actions.

Comment Keep to the promise 20 April 2014

OVERALL
1.25
PAY
2
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

Very disappointing

The majority of the Consultants were friendly, competent and professional. However, deeply troubling that the biggest teaching agency in the UK is not willing to pay a decent daily rate for its experienced Teachers!

Comment Roni1972 20 April 2014

OVERALL
1.75
PAY
1
SUPPORT
3
TRAINING
2
EASE OF FINDING WORK
1

Stay clear of Protocol Education.

Protocol Education are dedicated to making themselves money. I signed with Protocol Education in Canada (with hopes of coming and starting my teaching career in the UK). Protocol 'guaranteed' hours (they 'forgot to mention that this includes nursery positions at £32/day). They also promised tax free and flights reimbursed... didn't happen. My friend and I ended up leaving the UK, after 2 months of teaching, because Protocol treated us so poorly. Think twice before using this agency. Scammers.

Comment lindsaylakhani@gmail.com 20 April 2014

OVERALL
1.25
PAY
1
SUPPORT
1
TRAINING
1
EASE OF FINDING WORK
2

Key

Excellent

Five stars

Very good

Four stars

Average

Three stars

Poor

Five stars

Very poor

One star